Hello world!

29 Dec


Well, then, hello world it is! And hello to you WordPressers!

I’ve been blogging over at MySpace for a few months now, and I was overall satisfied with it, until I read a post by a buddy of mine, and said buddy was tearing apart the MySpace blogging software. And, I guess, with reason. I do not like the absence of categories, and I have to admit, I don’t have that many friends, I’m too lazy and proud to whore other people’s pages, send invites, kiss ass by posting stupid “Thanks for adding me!!!” comments all over the place, so I don’t bother and blog for few (although I have observed a recent increase of traffic on my blog, which pleased me.)
So I thought that maybe blogging in two places would help me to generate more traffic, and garner new readers.

So for the time being, what I intent to do is duplicate my blog; post the same entries here and on MySpace. Then, depending on whether my strategy works or not, I might end up using MySpace strictly for music, or use it to blog in French. Because I am French. Why do I blog in Anglo then? I can’t be arsed to explain it right now. Maybe later.

Why WordPress? Good question. I poked around Blogger, got frustrated by I can’t recall what exactly, read up on WordPress, signed up on WordPress, got pissed off when I realized I couldn’t tweak the themes in WordPress, got even more pissed off to realize how few themes there are, but it took me quite a while to realize all that, and now it’s passed 1am, and tiredness has taken over pissed-off-ness. So for the time being, I’m gonna stick around here, see how things are like, hope the bigwigs at WordPress will find it their hearts to let us upload our own themes, or at least, add more; many more. I feel a bit bad to complain about free software, but some variety is needed, and pretty badly. I want cute themes, pink themes, cats and flowers and colours.
And from some of the threads I’ve read in the forums, I’m not the only one.

So to conclude this first post, let me please introduce myself: I’m Rachel. I live in Montreal. I’m a theatre graduate. I host a radio show every summer on a local francophone community radio station, where I cover mostly music and often interview local musicians, french or english, and from any genre. As long as I like their music, or course.
I see over 100 different musical acts in an average year.

I blog about all kinds of things. TV, being an obsession of mine, is obviously a topic of predilection for me, but thankfully, I have other interests too, and it’s safe to assume that I’ll be sharing them.
I’m also a major kvetch, so expect me to bitch about a large variety of things.

And one last thing: I swear. A fair bit. I’d like to put a disclaimer on top of my page, to warn the faint-hearted, but I don’t think I can with WordPress. So fuck it. Disclaimer’s here. You stand warned.

This is a pretty mediocre first post, I find. I’m not usually this dull. I’m tired, and it’s obvious, so I think I’d better retire before boring everyone, including myself to tears.

So good night, y’all, and if you want to find out more about me, check out my profile, read my blog, become my friend at: http://myspace.com/salomey5

Hope to see you there, or here, or both! That’s it, I’m out. Ciao! 🙂

6 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. Mr WordPress December 29, 2007 at 9:36 pm #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Like

  2. Flea March 20, 2008 at 9:06 pm #

    Meow..

    Like

  3. Flea March 20, 2008 at 9:08 pm #

    meow..food

    Like

  4. Flea March 20, 2008 at 9:09 pm #

    wheres my owner gone !!

    Like

  5. Flea March 20, 2008 at 9:10 pm #

    fuck it .. im going to bed .. no food.. meow.

    Like

  6. salomey5 March 20, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    Oh, fuck off Ian! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

